UK must leave the single market

On 23 June 2016, the UK voted to leave the European Union and since then the country has seen considerable change. With the appointment of Theresa May as Prime Minister, she has had a difficult and challenging task to reinforce the UK's decision to leave the EU.

Today,17 January 2017, Theresa May delivered a speech on how she and her Brexit Advisers were going to start negotiating plans to exit the EU and how they were going to deliver this.

Theresa May's speech outlined her 12-point Brexit plan, identifying the key areas of the government's plans including:

  1. Provide certainty about the process of leaving the EU
  2. Control of our own laws
  3. Strengthen the Union between the four nations of the UK
  4. Maintain the Common Travel Area with Ireland
  5. Controlling the number of people who come to Britain from Europe
  6. Rights for EU nationals in Britain and British nationals in the EU
  7. Protect workers' rights
  8. Free trade with European markets through a free trade agreement
  9. New trade agreements with other countries
  10. The best place for science and innovation
  11. Co-operation in the fight against crime and terrorism
  12. A smooth, orderly Brexit

The speech highlighted a number of key points regarding the final deal on Britain's exit from the EU which will now formally be put to a vote by the Houses of Parliament. One area of focus is the decision for Britain to leave the single market - the government will be seeking the best possible deal for the UK in regards to access and free trade.

Theresa May has also highlighted that she aims to see a phased process of implementation of new arrangements outside the EU from 2019.

We are bound to see further changes to the UK's strategy to leave the EU, however from today's speech it has been made clear that the UK will be starting to finalise plans to leave the single market. 

Send us a message